Craft Forum  
Go Back   Craft Forum > Arts and Crafts > Jewelry and Beadwork

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Newbie Crafter

View kato777's Photo Album My Photos
Default Looking for guidance for bead stringing material

Hello, all,

I'm new to beading, and at this point, my enthusiasm and design skills far outreach my technique and knowledge. I've been doing a lot of research - and experimentation - to try to learn more.

So far, I haven't really found consistent recommendations for what type of stringing material to use in which situations, and why. The projects I find online specify what to use for that particular project. But then I'll find a similar project that uses a different material!

Can anyone give me some recommendations? I appreciate your time and help.

Thank you so much,

kato

kato777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join CraftForum.com

Join Craft Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

CraftForum.com is a free community of crafty people who enjoy making projects and sharing ideas and tips with each other. It doesnít matter if youíre just getting started or if youíre an old pro, youíll find the Craft Forum is a great community to join. Best of all itís totally free!

Join CraftForum.com - Click Here
JOIN FOR FREE

Old 04-07-2012, 03:42 PM   #2
Craft Addict

View Angela's Photo Album My Photos

I don't know that there are any set rules. That is most likely why you are finding so many different materials to use. I've made bracelets with stretch elastic, thread and multi strand wire. Each have their good and bad points. I have made necklaces with the same stringing materials mentioned. Sometimes what you use depends on the materials you are stringing. I only use elastic when I am mostly using seed beads. A rarely use thread any more for bracelets because I, personally, don't relly like it. I am just learning to use crimps, which are required for the more professional, sturdy, wire strung bracelets.