Craft Forum  
Go Back   Craft Forum > Arts and Crafts > Sewing and Needlework > Sewing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 10:57 PM   #1
Newbie Crafter

View mama2cuties's Photo Album My Photos
Default Should I upgrade to a serger?

I learned to sew when I was a kid, but I've never made more than one or two things at a time & then I'd put the machine away for 6+ months before I'd feel like pulling it back out. Basically...I'm no sewing expert.

I decided to start making DD's summer wardrobe & a lot of patterns have mentioned that a serged edge is preferred, but it's fine to just zigzag stitch or trim with pinking shears. Is it worth it to get a serger? What other advantages would there be? I'm never going to have the time to make things to sell, so this would be strictly for personal use. Does the garment look any more professional from the outside?

Thanks in advance for the help & opinions!!
Katie

mama2cuties is offline   Reply With Quote
Join CraftForum.com

Join Craft Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

CraftForum.com is a free community of crafty people who enjoy making projects and sharing ideas and tips with each other. It doesnít matter if youíre just getting started or if youíre an old pro, youíll find the Craft Forum is a great community to join. Best of all itís totally free!

Join CraftForum.com - Click Here
JOIN FOR FREE

Old 01-18-2010, 12:00 AM   #2
Newbie Crafter

View aecryan's Photo Album My Photos

I love, love, love my serger. I bought it off of my local CL for $90 and she included $60 worth of thread. I will never use it to sell either, but totally worth it imo. Also, the clothes that I have made since having my serger have been faster and more professional looking.
Old 01-18-2010, 12:17 AM   #3
Craft Intern

View Kymy's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via MSN to Kymy Send a message via Yahoo to Kymy