Craft Forum  
Go Back   Craft Forum > Arts and Crafts > Sewing and Needlework > Sewing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
Crafting Student

View TJsmommy's Photo Album My Photos
Question Twirl DRess

Does anyone make twirl dresses? what pattern do you use?
I'm thinking of making one, but i'm a complete newbie sewer and i'm not sure if I'll be able to handle it. Are they easy to make?

I'm a WAHM with a knitting business. I enjoy knitting, scrapbooking, photography and just started learning how to sew. I love all things crafts and am always looking for new ideas! My work at home mom page my Knitting store
TJsmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join CraftForum.com

Join Craft Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

CraftForum.com is a free community of crafty people who enjoy making projects and sharing ideas and tips with each other. It doesnít matter if youíre just getting started or if youíre an old pro, youíll find the Craft Forum is a great community to join. Best of all itís totally free!

Join CraftForum.com - Click Here
JOIN FOR FREE

Old 01-25-2010, 06:33 PM   #2
Newbie Crafter

View stacy_smile's Photo Album My Photos

I haven't made any dresses, but I have made skirts from this tutorial. They are pretty easy - the hardest part is getting the gather distributed evenly, but lots of pins help with this. My DD loves her twirly skirts! I pair it with a cute tank top or t-shirt.
stacy_smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:25 PM   #3
Crafting Student

View Adviga's Photo Album My Photos

I just did a twirly skirt using the indietutes tutorial. Look around while you are in her blog because she has a number of great tutorials including instructions for basic sewing techniques. She shows how to use clear elastic for gathering. I didn't do too well with this but that may be because I'm too used to gathering by hand.